Uncategorized

Review | Appetite for Innocence by Lucinda Berry

Appetite for InnocenceAppetite for Innocence by Lucinda Berry

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Lucinda is quickly becoming a favorite of mine! I love watching just how dark her books go. She’s not afraid to go “there” and get messy and disturbing. I LOVE IT!


“If you hurt me, he will kill you. If you hurt Paige, he will kill you. If you don’t act right, he will kill you. This shit is not a game.”

The writing in this story is excellent, to be able to write back and forth between multiple characters from “now” and “then” isn’t always easy to do. But she does it so effortlessly it flows right off the pages. I was constantly wanting to know what was going to happen next in both the past and present, I couldn’t read fast enough.

Sarah officially creeped me out. I wasn’t expecting my feelings for her to change so drastically but they definitely did. I flip flopped back and forth with how I wanted to feel about her and her role in everything but when that last sentence hit my brain- game over! Sarah is creepy as heck! Rightfully so, don’t get me wrong, everything the girls go through plus her past. Still- creepy.

Poor Ella, wasn’t so accustomed to this strange, sick man as Sarah and Paige were. Kidnapped from her run, she feels at fault and her mind goes to a dark place for a good long time. I enjoyed that aspect as well, I felt it gave a more “real life” vibe to the story. If something like that happens you don’t just bounce back, you get messed up.


“I know what it’s like to love someone who is hurting you and what it’s like to hate yourself for it, but feel powerless to stop it. I know the confusion, the pain, and the hurt.”

I love fascinating stories like this one. Psychology -the human mind-, kidnapping and torture. Lucinda explores the depths of these subjects phenomenally and I can’t wait to read what’s coming next!

My rating: 5/5 stars
https://afterthepages.wordpress.com/

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

