Uncategorized

Review | Phantom Limb by Lucinda Berry

Phantom Limb

By Lucinda Berry

33586862

Emily and Elizabeth spend their childhood locked in a bedroom and terrorized by a mother who drinks too much and disappears for days. The identical twins are rescued by a family determined to be their saviors.

But there’s some horrors love can’t erase…

Elizabeth wakes in a hospital, strapped to her bed and unable to move or speak. The last thing she remembers is finding Emily’s body in their bathroom. Days before, she was falling in love and starting college. Now, she’s surrounded by men who talk to themselves and women who pull out their eyebrows.

As she delves deeper into the mystery surrounding Emily’s death, she discovers shocking secrets and holes in her memory that force her to remember what she’s worked so hard to forget-the beatings, the blood, the special friends. Her life spins out of control at a terrifying speed as she desperately tries to unravel the psychological puzzle of her past before it’s too late.

Phantom Limb is a character-driven mystery that begs to be read in a single setting. The shocking and shattering conclusion will make you go back and read it again.

Perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train, Behind Closed Doors, and The Girl With No Past.


Phantom Limb is my first novel by Lucinda. Holy cow! How is this my first time reading this author? Where has she been all my life?!

The story starts out with a set of twins, Emily and Elizabeth, living their everyday life. One of them has a very difficult time coping while the other continues to work and even has a man in her life. As the story progresses we learn about all the hard things they were forced to face as small children. A lot of it is very hard to read. Down right disturbing. All of the horrific things those poor girls went through scarred them for life. In more ways than they even imagined possible…..

As the story gets deeper and deeper into its roots, things get weird and SO SO interesting. I was so engrossed in what was happening I kept thinking about it when I put it down. I tried explaining it to my husband but there’s no justifying the extent of what happens in this book.

I think someone might be crazy here… not sure. Is it me?! I’m starting to question my own sanity. LOL

The ending is basically just genius…… I NEVER saw that coming. That twist! Truly shocked me. Just go read this, go into it blindly! It’s a truly satisfying experience you just have to read for yourself.

My rating: 4/5 stars

*I received a copy of Phantom Limb in exchange for an honest review. Many thanks for allowing me to read this book!

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s