Uncategorized

Review | Empire by Lili St. Germain

Empire

By Lili St. Germain

22369032

The breathtaking finale to the USA Today bestselling Cartel trilogy.

I should have known it would always come down to this, from the very moment I laid eyes on him in that motel.

I should have known his salvation was too good to be true.

Because it’s all gone now, the impossible, secret love I had for him bleeding away in the darkness that came afterwards.

Now there’s only hate.

Now I just want to escape.

Even if it means I have to kill him to be free.

Before the Gypsy Brothers series there was the Cartel – from USA Today bestselling author Lili St Germain.


So, going into this trilogy I knew what was going to happen at the end. I read The Gypsy Brothers series first, seeing as Cartel wasn’t published yet. I KNEW this would be an emotional roller coaster. I KNEW someone’s fate wasn’t going to end well. I KNEW my heart would break in two. And I wasn’t wrong.

Don’t let Dornan scare you away. Don’t turn your nose up just because it’s about him. If you’ve read The Gypsy Brothers you’ll understand where I’m coming from. No, don’t let your hatred for him let you miss out on these amazing books. Lili is so so talented and can write anything. I love her dark, dirty, raw and dangerous men she writes. And her women are just as fabulous. They can handle their own. Strong badass women.

The Gypsy Brothers and the Cartel trilogy weave a tangled web. If you’re new to both start here with the Cartel trilogy then move on to the Gypsy Brothers. I think people that start with Mariana and Dornan will see him differently than if they start with the GB. You will still have ill feelings no less, but in a different light.

There is so much love and life, death and loss in this book. I felt for all the characters at some point. You could feel the tension, the desperation and despair. When all the lies and deceit start to pile up they don’t know which way is up anymore. They’re sinking and just want out. But sometimes it IS too late, and love can’t be saved………

My rating: 5/5 stars 

*I received an ARC in exchange for an honest review. Many thanks for allowing me to read this book! 

Leave a Reply

