Uncategorized

Review | Fiend by Peter Stenson

Fiend

by Peter Stenson

16085506

When Chase Daniels first sees the little girl in umbrella socks tearing open the Rottweiler, he’s not too concerned. As a longtime meth addict, he’s no stranger to horrifying, drug-fueled hallucinations. But as he and his fellow junkies soon discover, the little girl is no illusion. The end of the world really has arrived. 

 The funny thing is, Chase’s life was over long before the apocalypse got here, his existence already reduced to a stinking basement apartment and a filthy mattress and an endless grind of buying and selling and using. He’s lied and cheated and stolen and broken his parents’ hearts a thousand times. And he threw away his only shot at sobriety a long time ago, when he chose the embrace of the drug over the woman he still loves. 

And if your life’s already shattered beyond any normal hopes of redemption…well, maybe the end of the world is an opportunity. Maybe it’s a last chance for Chase to hit restart and become the man he once dreamed of being. Soon he’s fighting to reconnect with his lost love and dreaming of becoming her hero among civilization’s ruins. But is salvation just another pipe dream? 

Propelled by a blistering first-person voice and featuring a powerfully compelling antihero, Fiend is at once a riveting portrait of addiction, a pitch-black love story, and a meditation on hope, redemption, and delusion—not to mention one hell of a zombie novel


Oh.My.Gosh. I freaking LOVED this book. Seriously. I read some reviews before I started because it’s what I do, and let me just say I feel SO sad for those people that chose to DNF this before they got a chance to see how things turned out. I just loved it. I finished it yesterday and I’m still thinking about it. As soon as I closed the book I literally ran to Goodreads to find out what else Peter wrote and if there’s more.

Fiend is TOTALLY Breaking Bad meets The Walking Dead. I loved the characters in this book. Every one of them. The realness of their addiction. They were just doing whatever they had to do to get through the day. To get their next fix. To live. I’ve never done drugs a day in my life and it was very, very interesting to see the world, or what’s left of it, through the eyes of some hardcore junkies.

Peter isn’t afraid to suck you in, to get you to like a character and connect with them and then BAM he kills them off. I love that in a good apocalyptic novel. Not everyone gets to live and that’s certainly the case here.

The ending literally had me in knots. I was stressed out from the situation and then Chase, our main character, is screaming and pleading and begging and I’m doing the same thing right along with him. I felt so empty and needing more when I closed this book.

I’ve never felt compassion for a drug addict like I did Chase. If that doesn’t tell you something about the writing in this book, I don’t know what will. The writing style – it’s pretty epic.

Got me all up in my feels, man! I’m gonna need another story to this ASAP!

My rating: 5/5 stars
Buy link: AMAZON
Leave a Reply

