Uncategorized

Review | Fish Out of Water by Hailey Edwards

Fish Out of Water

by Hailey Edwards

31435930

Harlow Bevans was a changeling mermaid working as a diving consultant for the Earthen Conclave. Then he came along. Charybdis. A serial killer who possessed her body and wrecked her mind. Now she’s an inmate—patient—at Edelweiss Mental Institution.

When a haunting song lures her to the scene of a brutal murder, the calm of the past few months is shattered. A fellow patient is dead, and Harlow is caught standing over his body by a mysterious guard who hides his own secrets behind a pair of aviator sunglasses her fingers itch to remove.

Unwilling to be a pawn in another psychopath’s game, Harlow sets out to discover the real killer. What she uncovers makes her a prime target, and the next song she hears could be her last. Curiosity may not have killed the cat, but it just might fillet the mermaid.


First of all let’s talk about that amazing cover! I’ll admit I haven’t had the pleasure of reading any of Hailey’s books until this one because that cover just pulled me in. After reading this one I added all of her others to my list!

Fish Out of Water is a short, intriguing, captivating story! I tend to shy away from novellas because I really love character development and just longer stories in general but I’m SO glad I went on with this one anyway. It may be short but it packs a punch! It’s a little out of my element being fantasy. I found myself highlighting words and using my kindle dictionary to look up all the different mythical creatures. SO interesting… Opened up a whole new can of worms for me in the fantasy world.

The setting of this book puts off an eerie.. creepy.. vibe that I just ATE UP. A mental hospital. Add a killer on the loose on top of that?! *SQUEEEEEEE*

Harlow aka Pinks has the hots for a guard working her wing but he only seems to be there when no one else is around. Harlow has her doubts about him… Can she trust him? What does he want with her?! He has a few secrets up his sleeve.

The two of them have bigger problems when they come face to face with the murderer and try take them down head on. Who saves who and will they make it?

*I received an ARC in exchange for an honest review.

My rating: 4/5 stars.

Buy link: AMAZON

Leave a Reply

