Uncategorized

Review | Pretty Wicked

Pretty Wicked

by Kelly Charron

31394680

The daughter of a local police detective, fifteen-year-old Ryann has spent most of her life studying how to pull off the most gruesome murders her small Colorado town has ever seen.

But killing is only part of it. Ryann enjoys being the reason the cops are frenzied. The one who makes the neighbors lock their doors and windows on a hot summer’s day. The one everyone fears but no one suspects.

Carving out her own murderous legacy proves harder than she predicted. Mistakes start adding up. And with the police getting closer, and her own father becoming suspicious, Ryann has to prove once and for all that she’s smarter than anyone else—or she’ll pay the ultimate price.


This book has one of the most interesting blurbs I have ever read. Between that and the fabulous cover, I was already hooked.

“There’s a distinct difference between a kill of opportunity and a planned murder.”

Ryann -our lovely sweet little girl of a heroine- is a sociopath, psychotic, crazy. If there’s a word for it, it’s probably Ryann and she’s one hell of an actor to have all of her friends fooled. With her obsession of serial killers and her black humor, I felt a little crazy myself reading this. I was rooting for her and laughing right along beside her.

“That gives me the creeps. Stop it.” Oh, feigning innocence and fear. Good times.

Poor Ryann, she stressed me out. With all the killing, lies, and mistakes she made.. I didn’t know which way was up. I just KNEW that she was going to get caught any second. My heart was racing, I was turning pages as fast I could read. I was almost tempted to turn to the back and read what happens. I just wanted to know!

I felt sorry for her too. Always trying to be the best daughter she can be and outshine her sister. She just wants to be recognized. A pat on the back…an atta’ girl.. anything! But she’s never good enough. It’s quite obvious being in her head that she needs major help.

There are several other “suspects” thrown into play and her COP of a dad and his partner hot on her heels. Just how far is Ryann willing to go? She’s hurting people left and right, slipping up and getting sloppy. Who’s going to be the one to bring her down? And is someone watching?

Pretty Wicked was the perfect YA/mature dark read. The high school setting was perfect and not TOO YA with the gritty killings and Ryann’s dark thoughts. I cannot wait for book two.

*I received an ARC from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

My rating: 5/5 stars

2 thoughts on “Review | Pretty Wicked

Leave a Reply

