Uncategorized

Review | Nerve

Nerve

by Jeanne Ryan

13088498

For fans of The Hunger Games..
 A high-stakes online game of dares turns deadly..
When Vee is picked to be a player in NERVE, an anonymous game of dares broadcast live online, she discovers that the game knows her. They tempt her with prizes taken from her ThisIsMe page and team her up with the perfect boy, sizzling-hot Ian. At first it’s exhilarating–Vee and Ian’s fans cheer them on to riskier dares with higher stakes. But the game takes a twisted turn when they’re directed to a secret location with five other players for the Grand Prize round. Suddenly they’re playing all or nothing, with their lives on the line. Just how far will Vee go before she loses NERVE?


I think I enjoyed the idea of this book MORE than The Hunger Games. It’s really not like THG at all. It puts off a completely different vibe. I picked this book up because of the movie. I generally like to read the book first so I had to read it since it’s currently in theaters. After reading I can’t wait to go watch on the big screen and see how it plays out there.

The main character Vee is reserved and not so outgoing, always behind the scenes. So she pushes herself to sign up for NERVE, just for fun, to prove something to herself and everyone else. The dares started out a little lame, pouring water on her head in the middle of a coffee shop. People are supposed to be watching her live, online. There is nothing fascinating about pouring water on your head but they watch anyway. Something goes a little awry with her dare and the next thing she knows the video is buzzing around her school.

Then NERVE contacts her for more. The real deal, with a partner, prizes won after each dare if completed. I was expecting the dares to go a little differently. Not so juvenile and a little more hardcore, but they were somewhat dangerous, nonetheless. What starts out with a girl in a coffee shop pouring water on her head for fun turns “deadly” and there’s weapons involved. At the final round is when things make a dark turn and I start to feel all those things I had hoped the rest of it would be.

“All you have to do is choose a victim.”

 It definitely has the YA feel but with a little bit more. The romance factor was a little strange, insta love almost but with an off vibe. Vee was back and forth between drooling over her partner and thoughts if she could even trust him.

“Hard to believe that earlier this evening I was sulking behind a dusty curtain while I watched my best friend backstab me. And now? Prizes, fun, and maybe cash. But most importantly, a smokin’-hot guy who’s eyeing me like candy.”

So I have mixed feelings. I really enjoyed the book and it was entertaining, just not as thrilling as it makes out to be. There were certain things that happened that could’ve made it so much better and the ending left me a little speechless. Is there going to be more or not? Did the author just want to make you squirm? It could go either way.

I have high hopes for the movie! I think this may be one of the few times I say the movie was better. We shall see!

My rating: 3/5 stars

Buy link:  AMAZON

Leave a Reply

