Uncategorized

Review | The Couple Next Door

The Couple Next Door

by Shari Lapena

28815474

“How well do you know the couple next door? Or your husband? Or even—yourself? People are capable of almost anything. . .”

“Anne and Marco Conti seem to have it all—a loving relationship, a wonderful home, and their beautiful baby, Cora. But one night when they are at a dinner party next door, a terrible crime is committed. Suspicion immediately focuses on the parents. But the truth is a much more complicated story.”


The Couple Next Door is heart stopping from the first few pages. The couple goes to a dinner party -without their baby- at the not so lovely next door neighbors. When they finally go home in the early hours of the morning the door is open and baby Cora is nowhere to be found. The police are called and the story begins to weave its tangled web.

I really enjoyed this book. I read it in one day, thinking about it when I had to put it down. There’s so many twists and turns and lies on top of lies. I liked the points of view from character to character. Anne, Marco, the detective, Anne’s dad, the neighbor. It helped you see all angles of the good and the bad. Or at least you think you know who’s good and who’s bad then the author throws a curve ball in there.

“And then a voice I recognized. “I was wondering when you’d call.”

At this point, about 200 pages in, I somewhat caught on to the WHO, I just had to keep reading to get all the pieces of the puzzle.

The ending went a little different than I had thought it would. With the kidnapper, I was prepared with my clues of what I thought would happen. After the conversation in Anne’s parent’s home, you can almost guess what’s coming. But then at the very end when you think things are going to be okay, we are left with a huge hole. One that we don’t get answers to. I understand to an extent WHY it was done but then at the same time after all that they just went through, WHY!? WHY WHY WHY? I’d love to know what happens next. This ending shows just how bad off the character really was.

The Couple Next Door is faced paced, full of surprises, deceitful lies, death, murder, mental illness… SO many emotions wrapped up in this novel. I’m trying to be as spoiler free as possible here because it’s so intricate that one just needs to read it to experience how it grabs you in from the very beginning.

My rating 4/5 stars

Leave a Reply

