Uncategorized

Review | The Passenger

The Passenger

By Lisa Lutz

26154406

“Forty-eight hours after leaving her husband’s body at the base of the stairs, Tanya Dubois cashes in her credit cards, dyes her hair brown, demands a new name from a shadowy voice over the phone, and flees town. It’s not the first time.”

That part of the blurb pretty much sums up 95% of the book. I was hooked from chapter one. It opens with a dead body at the bottom of the stairs. Pretty interesting right?

The main character goes by so many different names and changes, I will call her she. She is on the run from town to town throughout most of the book. From place to place, different hair, eyes, different bar, different hotel. After a while I got a little antsy with it and was wondering when the real drama was going to happen. Several of the aliases she took on just seemed to be wasted words, fillers.

Then at random times the drama would happen. And it was almost a little over the top. Most of the things that happened, were not even in the slightest believable. Ninja kicking a guy in the head from the passenger seat, booby traps in the woods, and even murder – yet she couldn’t change a battery in her Jeep. Those little things peeved me but I get some readers might overlook those things and be fine with it.

“As I drove away, the realization came into full relief. I had just taken over the identity of a felon, with the murder weapon sitting right in my glove compartment.”

“Nothing personal. Survival makes you do things you never thought you were capable of.”

I felt like the story was long and drawn out with a lot of details, then at the end it’s rushed with the author explaining the past and the why all in that last chapter. I would have liked more and I wished she had got her happy ending. Why did she do some of the things she did? And how did that happen? I still have some unanswered questions about some of her aliases.

Despite the little hiccups and plot holes I still enjoyed it and wanted to know what happened in the end. It’s faced paced with action and lots of suspense. You don’t really realize all the little holes until you’re done reading and start thinking about it and wanting more. This was my first Lisa Lutz read and I look forward to reading some of her other work.

My rating 3/5 stars

Leave a Reply

