Uncategorized

Review | The Wolf Road

The Wolf Road

by Beth Lewis

27209140

I almost always pause while I’m reading and jot down a quote I like as I come to it, but with this one I just couldn’t stop reading long enough to make notes! I don’t think I’ve met a character quite like Elka. She’s rough and tough on the outside and has her outdoorsy smarts about her despite the fact that she has no education. I’m sure her speech won’t be for everyone but I loved it. It flowed so well for the story and Elka’s background and who her “daddy” was – Young girl raised by her Nana till one day she’s lost in the woods. When she stumbles on the man that’s about to change her life.

“Death put his hand on my shoulder and laughed.”

Trapper – Kreagar Hallet – is a killer. He hunts for sport and doesn’t want anyone else around. Just “him and Elka”. Elka discovers some deep secrets on her own one day and everything goes dark. On the run from the man she thought she knew, she sets out to find her real parents.

Along the way there’s death and friendship, anger and sadness. Elka’s survival mode is tested over and over again. Relationships are put through the ringer and back again. Elka makes a friend, Penelope. I loved her just as much as Elka. They complimented each other well.

With a Magistrate hot on their tail they face lots of hardships and danger to get justice for those deserving.

The setting, the writing, everything about this book is so different and unique. It’s a suspenseful cat-and-mouse page turner, definite to have you biting your nails with every page!

It’s scary what human beings are capable of, the good and the bad.

*I received a copy of The Wolf Road from Blogging for Books in exchange for an honest review.

My rating: 5/5 stars 

Leave a Reply

